Get to know Amityville

Sites To See At Amityville

The spooky legends and rich historical sights have made Amityville a popular tourist attraction. Amityville became an incorporated village in 1894. It was known as the farming community with access to boating and fishing industries.

In the early 1900s, Amityville gained massive popularity. With access to larger hotels and homes, it became a tourist attraction. It became strikingly more famous after being based on the novel and later thriller movies, Amityville The Horror.

These movies were based on the murders and the horror incidents that took place in this town in the year 1974. – Although Amityville has managed to remove alleged descriptions for the most part, it is still known for the urban legends.

Tourists enjoy exploring properties and parks in the village to get a chance to experience its horror effects.

Sites to visit in Amityville

There are several sites you should visit when in Amityville, including Central Park. Anybody who comes down to the city and chooses not to visit Central Park is extremely rare. It is one of the city’s most amusing sites. It offers visitors beautiful green scenery with a view that looks upon the gorgeous lake.

Central Park is a prime attraction when visiting Amityville. Other famous attractions include Amityville Beach. So, if you’re seeking a day out at the beach, consider going here!

Amityville beach is known for catering to families thanks to its cleanliness and easy accessibility. If you are traveling with kids, this is the perfect pastime. Long trips tend to get tedious for the little ones and a day out at the beach can refresh their wandering needs!

Nearby Neighborhoods:

Amityville History & Culture

Huntington settlers first visited the Amityville area in 1653 due to its location to a source of salt hay for use as animal fodder. Chief Wyandanch granted the first deed to land in Amityville in 1658. The area was originally called Huntington West Neck South (it is on the Great South Bay and Suffolk County, New York border in the southwest corner of what once called Huntington South), but is now the Town of Babylon. According to village lore, the name was changed in 1846 when residents were working to establish its new post office. The meeting turned into bedlam and one participant was to exclaim, “What this meeting needs is some amity”. Another version says the name was first suggested by mill owner Samuel Ireland to name the town for his boat, the Amity.

Panoramic map of Amityville from 1925 with list of landmarks and images of several inset
The place name is strictly speaking an incidental name, marking an amicable agreement on the choice of a place name. The village was formally incorporated on March 3, 1894. In the early 1900s, Amityville was a popular tourist destination with large hotels on the bay and large homes. Annie Oakley was said to be a frequent guest of vaudevillian Fred Stone. Will Rogers had a home across Clocks Boulevard from Stone. Gangster Al Capone also had a house in the community. Congregants began holding meeting for St. Mary’s Church in 1886, building a Chapel in 1888 by Wesley Ketcham under Rev. James H Noble and the church was consecrated in 1889, pre-dating the town incorporation.

Amityville has been a sister city with Le Bourget, France since 1979.

Driveway Crack Filling